Should You Buy a PreOwned Golf Cart?February 5, 2016
What to Do When Your Golf Cart Won’t Start.February 24, 2016
Whether you live in a sprawling neighborhood, small community, just outside a thriving downtown area, or right near the beach, picking up a golf cart for getting around quickly and easily without having to waste money on gas for your regular car is a great idea! You can take the family with you wherever you go in a quiet, comfortable vehicle that still gets you where you need to go.
However, before you bring your golf cart home and start enjoying your newfound freedom, it’s important to know the rules of the road as they pertain to golf cart drivers.
Do You Have A Valid Permit?
According to the SCDMV, your golf cart is required to have a permit if you want to drive it on a secondary highway or street within four miles of your residence or place of business. In the state of South Carolina, golf cart permits must be replaced every five years. If you change your address of residency or business, you will need to obtain a new one reflecting accurate information.
To gain a permit, you must provide proof of insurance for the cart and a valid driver’s license number, pay $5.00, and fill out a golf cart form. To fill out a form now, click here.
Housekeeping On Your Permit
More than likely, you’ll have more than one person driving the golf cart. In that case, you will need to show all valid licenses upon applying for a permit. While you are allowed to drive your golf cart outside of your home, or off the green, be sure you only drive during the daylight hours and limit your driving on highways and streets to a four-mile radius from your home or business. The speed limit allowed on a golf cart is 35 miles and hour or less.
Anyone that drives a permitted golf cart must also be at least sixteen years of age and hold a valid driver’s license to drive the cart on both public and private roads. Every time the golf cart is in operation, the driver will be held accountable for the following items: the registration certificate issued by the department, proof of liability insurance for the golf cart, and his/her driver’s license. Read up on more information following South Carolina’s golf cart and low- speed vehicle laws here.
Why Follow The Rules?
Failure to follow and complete all rules and instructions with your golf cart can put you in a mess. Remember to treat your low- speed vehicle just like any regular vehicle and follow all applicable driving laws.
If you are caught driving your golf cart under the influence, you will face the same charges any driver of any vehicle will. If a minor driving a golf cart is pulled over (unless they have a valid driver’s license), the parents of the minor will receive a fine of over two hundred dollars. While South Carolina does not require golf cart drivers to carry insurance with them, it is recommended that your cart be insured in case of an accident.
Be sure you are totally informed about the rules and regulations you need to follow before you bring your golf cart home. At Garrett’s, we pride ourselves on experienced, friendly customer service that ensures you’ll know everything you need to know, about your golf cart and important rules around driving it. Garrett’s is here for you whenever you need us.